Heritage Places Trail Cultural Trail

View all trails

The rich heritage of the Mid North Coast is found not only in the stories and collections of our museums but in our buildings and landscapes. This Trail highlights some of the buildings and places you can freely visit, especially those of State Heritage Significance. For further information on Aboriginal or natural heritage sites you should visit http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/heritageapp/heritagesearch.aspx while each Council also has a list of items of local heritage significance. Some have created local heritage trails which can be found at our Walk on the Cultural Side Trail.

Seal Rocks Lighthouse

Kempsey

Constructed in 1875 Seal Rocks Lighthouse, is an active lighthouse located on Sugarloaf Point, a point about 3 kilometres (1.9 mi) southeast of the settlement of Seal Rocks Not surprisingly…

Read More..
  • (02) 6591 0300

Location

View on Google
Kinka Rd, Seal Rocks

Details

Constructed in 1875 Seal Rocks Lighthouse, is an active lighthouse located on Sugarloaf Point, a point about 3 kilometres (1.9 mi) southeast of the settlement of Seal Rocks Not surprisingly it was built to guard vessels from a treacherous rock formation, Seal Rocks. It is the first lighthouse designed by Colonial Architect, James Barnet and is one of only two lighthouse towers in Australia with an external stairway. Sugarloaf Point is part of Myall Lakes National Park. For further information http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/visit-a-park/parks/Myall-Lakes-National-Park or phone (02) 6591 0300

For more information on Seal Rocks Lighthouse, give them a call on (02) 6591 0300 or view their website, http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/visit-a-park/parks/Myall-Lakes-National-Park

Wingham Memorial Town Hall

Great Lakes, Port Macquarie Hastings

The Wingham Memorial Town Hall dating from dating from 1924, is rare and possibly unique within NSW as an institutional building designed in the Interwar Californian Bungalow architectural style. It…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
52 Farquhar Street, Wingham

Details

The Wingham Memorial Town Hall dating from dating from 1924, is rare and possibly unique within NSW as an institutional building designed in the Interwar Californian Bungalow architectural style. It also displays aspects of the Federation Free Style, characterised by the asymmetrically positioned landmark tower; and the Federation Arts and Crafts style, characterised by the large arch over the entrance and decorative painted wood work

Innes Ruins

Port Macquarie Hastings

Major Archibald Clunes Innes arrived in Sydney in 1822 and was amongst the first free settlers in Port Macquarie. Lake Innes House was built by convicts between 1831 and 1848…

Read More..
  • 1300 303 155

Location

View on Google
The Ruins Way, Port Macquarie

Details

Major Archibald Clunes Innes arrived in Sydney in 1822 and was amongst the first free settlers in Port Macquarie. Lake Innes House was built by convicts between 1831 and 1848 and was high on the colonial social scale as Major Innes often entertained dignitaries including the Governor. The Depression of the 1840s bought financial ruin to Innes, and the closure of Port Macquarie as a penal settlement deprived him of convict labour. Following his departure, the house was occupied by a number of people over time, but was derelict by the beginning of the 1900s. It subsequently deteriorated to its present state as a result of natural decay and vandalism. Today, the ruins are classified by the National Trust of Australia with access to the site is by guided tour only. For more information and to book a tour contact Port Macquarie Visitor Information Centre on 1300 303 155 (within Australia only) or (02) 6581 8000.
For further information visit www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/lake-innes-nature-reserve/innes-ruins/historic-site

For more information on Innes Ruins, give them a call on 1300 303 155 or view their website, http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/lake-innes-nature-reserve/innes-ruins/historic-site

Port Macquarie Cemetery

Port Macquarie Hastings

The Port Macquarie Second Burying Ground 1824 – 1886 is historically significant at a State level for its strong associations with a number of individuals and families important in the…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
Gordon Street, Port Macquarie

Details

The Port Macquarie Second Burying Ground 1824 – 1886 is historically significant at a State level for its strong associations with a number of individuals and families important in the development of lPort Macquarie and New South Wales. Some 1,400 individuals were interred there, many of them convicts from the early penal settlement. The cemetery is managed as an historic site and public parkland, with surviving monuments scattered through the landscape.

Tacking Point Lighthouse

Port Macquarie Hastings

Tacking Point Lighthouse is Australia’s third oldest lighthouse. It was built on a rocky headland about 8 kilometres south of Port Macquarie in 1879 by Shepherd and Mortley, to a…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
Lighthouse Road, Port Macquarie

Details

Tacking Point Lighthouse is Australia’s third oldest lighthouse. It was built on a rocky headland about 8 kilometres south of Port Macquarie in 1879 by Shepherd and Mortley, to a design by the New South Wales Colonial Architect, James Barnet. Tacking Point was named by explorer Matthew Flinders in 1802 during his 1802–1803 circumnavigation of Australia. Major restoration works have taken place around the site including extensive interpretative signage detailing the history of the lighthouse. The foundations of the Lighthouse Keeper’s Cottage can still be seen next to the lighthouse.

St Thomas Church

Port Macquarie Hastings

One of Port Macquarie’s most historic buildings, the St Thomas’ Church is the fifth oldest Anglican Church still is use in Australia. It was built by convict labour under military…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
Hay Street, Port Macquarie

Details

One of Port Macquarie’s most historic buildings, the St Thomas’ Church is the fifth oldest Anglican Church still is use in Australia. It was built by convict labour under military supervision with the foundation stone laid in 1824. The first service was held in 1828. The walls consist of 365,000 handmade bricks with construction about 1 metre thick in the nave, and more in the tower. Look for the finger and other marks on bricks, used to tally the number of bricks made per convict. Beneath the floor of the front pews in the grave of Captain Rolland, who died of sunstroke and was buried one month before his second-in-command laid the foundation stone during a service by Reverend Thomas Hassall. For further information visit http://pmqang.org/history

Smokey Cape Lighthouse

Kempsey

Standing high on a narrow headland, Smoky Cape Lighthouse is surrounded by the stunning coastal scenery of Hat Head National Park. The lighthouse itself is as beautiful as the views…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
Lighthouse Rd, South West Rocks

Details

Standing high on a narrow headland, Smoky Cape Lighthouse is surrounded by the stunning coastal scenery of Hat Head National Park. The lighthouse itself is as beautiful as the views – check out its winding staircase and octagonal tower. Built in 1891, this heritage lighthouse is one of the last designed by the Colonial Architect, James Barnet. Smoky Cape headland was so named by Captain Cook after he saw Aboriginal fires burning there in 1770. Guided lighthouse tours are available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 1pm – contact (02) 6566 6301.You can also stay overnight at the lighthouse keepers’ cottage.

For more information visit http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/things-to-do/historic-buildings-places/smoky-cape-lighthouse

For more information on Smokey Cape Lighthouse, view their website, http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/things-to-do/historic-buildings-places/smoky-cape-lighthouse

Hammond and Wheatley Emporium

Bellingen

In 1900 W.J. Hammond and A.E. Wheatley purchased The Reform Store and changed the name to Hammond & Wheatley Pty Ltd. They built the business to such an extent the…

Read More..

Location

View on Google
73-75 Hyde St, Bellingen

Details

In 1900 W.J. Hammond and A.E. Wheatley purchased The Reform Store and changed the name to Hammond & Wheatley Pty Ltd. They built the business to such an extent the original building was not large enough and they decided to extend. The two storey premises were constructed over the original store. The building was Australia’s first cement brick building and was completed in 1909. It is likely that the proprietors were influenced by grand shopping arcades such as ‘The Strand” and ‘The Queen Victoria Building’.

The Hammond & Wheatley Commercial Emporium is classified as a rare two-storey commercial building type, formerly common in regional areas. Considerable original detail remains including decorative cement render to the façade, pressed metal ceilings and cedar joinery. Today it still retains its original retail function in the heart of creative Bellingen.