Skip to content

Connecting Communities & Culture

Finalists Revealed for STILL: National Still Life Award 2021

Article submitted by, Sheree Lyons on, June 8, 2021


Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery has unveiled its shortlist of finalists from a record number of entries by artists across Australia, all vying for the $30,000 prize, Still: National Still Life Award 2021.

This year’s award has set a new standard in the diversity of mediums, subject matter and still life expressions, with over 1000 entries received, a massive 40% increase on the previous Still in 2019.

“It was a tough job to narrow down to the 59 finalists, as there was so much great work from every state and territory, with artists at varying stages of their careers,” said Coffs Harbour Regional Gallery’s Catherine Fogarty. The panel also featured art collector Lisa Paulsen and Katina Davidson, Curator Indigenous Australian Art, QAGOMA.

The judge for the ultimate $30,000 prize is Elizabeth Ann Macgregor OBE, Director, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, who will announce the winner on August 14. The $5,000 People’s Choice Award will be voted on during the exhibition (14 Aug – 23 Oct).

The finalists are: Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer, Jordan Azcune, Julie Bartholomew, Samuel Beattie, Catherine Bell, Peter Berner, Yannick Blattner, Sophie Bottomley, Kristin Burgham, Steve Bush, Penelope Campbell, Jacob Canet-Gibson, Regi Cherini, Michael Cook, Grace Cram, Mitchell Donaldson, Kate Dorrough, Blak Douglas, Katherine Edney, Ernabella Arts, Sebastian Galloway, Susan Gourley, Libby Haines, Charlotte Haywood, Emma Hodges, Harley Ives, Susan Jacobsen, Josh Carl Juett, Violetta Lanza, Chris Leaver, Donna Marcus, Kiata Mason, Noel McKenna, Nikky Morgan-Smith, the incrEdible Museum, Michelle Neal, Pamela Pauline, Sarah Randall, Genevieve Felix Reynolds, Rose Rigley, Avan Robins, Brian Robinson, Lucy Roleff, Yul Scarf, Daniel Sherington, Ken Smith, Kylie Spear with Thomas Kidd, Dannielle Thorman, John Van Der Kolk, Oksana Waterfall, Gerry Wedd, Greg Weight, Polly Wells, Cleo Wilkinson, Elizabeth Willing, Andrea Wilson, Chris Wilson, Kat Wood, Peggy Zephyr.

Artwork: Susan Gourley, “Half-Eaten Banana”. Photo by Bridie Gillman
Scroll To Top